Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
KJPenglish
9 janvier 2008

telling a story/adrenalin rush

Preparation: explain what an adrenalin rush is.
a. Which tense is the most useful for introducing a new topic of conversation? use examples from the "have you ever...?" questions.

Elicit that the tenses are: 
the present perfect,
past continuous and
past simple.

b. Which would you probably use if you wanted to say exactly when something
happened?
c. You want to tell a story. Which of these two beginnings do you prefer?
1 It was late summer. People were sitting in street cafes, enjoying the sunshine and
watching the world go by.
2 It was late summer. People sat in street cafes, enjoyed the sunshine and watched
the world go by

1 Think back to a moment when you felt a rush of adrenalin. You are going to tell your partner
about it. Choose from the list below the things you want to talk about. Think about what you
will say and what language you will need.

o Where were you? At home? In the car? At a sports event? In town?
o Did it happen recently? How old were you?
o Who were you with?
o What were you doing?
o What happened?
o How did you feel?
o What were the consequences?
o Would you like to have the same experience again?

Language Toolbox

Stories are often told in five stages.
1) Introduction
Have I ever told about the time I was attacked by a lion?
2) Background
I was on holiday with Jan . . . We were travelling around Africa on my Harley . . .
3) Problem
Suddenly I heard a sound in the jungle. . . The next moment I saw . . . So there
we were, up the tree. . . We were beginning to feel rather nervous.
4) Resolution
Then I had an idea. . . In the end I managed to get the bike started. . . I drove
off at a hundred miles an hour. . .I didn't stop till I got to Nairobi. . .
5) Comment
I often wonder what happened to Jan. . .
2 Tell your partner the story. Give as much detail as possible.

Publicité
Commentaires
KJPenglish
  • An EFL blog for students and teachers. "New technologies will not replace teachers, but teachers who use new technologies will replace those who don't!" --/-- Un cahier de texte en ligne pour mes élèves et les profs qui suivent mes stages! voir catégor
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
KJPenglish
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité